Color
Font size A A A
Organizer
Theme
30 Years of Groundwork   Embracing a New Age
Design must be related to the following aspects:
  • DSD 30th Anniversary Review
  • River Revitalization: Implement ecological elements and landscape design to improve environment and provide the public with quality of life and green spaces, for example, the Tsui Ping River Project and Kai Tak River Improvement Project.
  • Rehabilitation: Replace and repair the aging drains and sewers.
  • Relocation: Relocate the aging Shatin Sewage Treatment Works to caverns in phases. After the relocation, the existing site could release about 28 hectares of land for public use which would facilitate the sustainable development of Hong Kong.
Purpose
  • To enhance citizens' understanding to the work of DSD
  • To encourage citizens to participate in the design of manhole cover, jointly establishing the city.
Target
All citizens in Hong Kong, people who care about urban development and interested in design (All staff of the organizer, contractor, members of the judging panel and their immediate family members are not allowed to participate in this competition.)
Schedule
Entry Submission
15 Nov – 15 Dec 2018
(Late submission will not be accepted)
Entry Assessment
20 Dec 2018
(Select the 1st, 2nd, 3rd winning entries, three merit awards, and four other entries for competing the most popular award)
Shortlist Announcement
21 Dec 2018
(10 shortlisted entries enter online voting)
Online Voting
21 Dec 2018 – 11 Jan 2019
(online voting for selecting the most popular award)
Result Announcement
14 Jan 2019
Prize Presentation
19 Jan 2019
(DSD Open Day 2019)
Prize
Judging Criteria
Judging Stage
First Stage:
The judging panel which formed by professionals who are knowledgeable in manhole cover design will select the winning entries.

Second stage:
Online voting will be held for selecting the most popular award from the 10 shortlisted entries by the first stage.
Results Announced
The results of the competition will be announced on the DSD's website on 14th January, 2019. Winners will be notified by letter and invited to attend the prize presentation to introduce their winning entries and share their design experience. The winning entry may be manufactured to product and in use in Hong Kong.
DSD Competition
What do you know about Manhole Cover?
When playing phones on the streets, did you notice various manhole covers of different patterns and wordings on the ground? How much do you know the codes behind them?
History
The birth of manhole is closely linked to the development of Hong Kong. In the early days, the combined sewage and drainage channel in the Victoria City (i.e. the current West Central, Admiralty, Wan Chai, Causeway Bay, etc.) was simple, they only relied on rainwater to wash away the excretion. The channels/ditches were not covered and it was easy to spread bacteria. In 1894, a plague in Hong Kong prompted the Government to speed up the implementation of water supply and sewage reforms, including sewage and stormwater diversion and covering channels/ditches. From then on, the water supply, sewerage and stormwater pipelines were transferred to the underground. Later, stone and stoneware were replaced by cast iron to build more durable pipes and manhole covers.
DSD Manhole cover design competition
"Round-clean-Square-dirty"
At present, there are two types of manhole covers patterns commonly found in Hong Kong. The small square indicates a sewer manhole while the round pattern indicates stormwater manholes. Therefore, there is a simple term "Round-clean-Square-dirty". A manhole covers design should be easily identified by maintenance team. As sewage manhole may accumulate with explosive and toxic gases, the square pattern could help to alert the team to be careful during maintenance.
圆清方浊
Mysterious symbol
Manhole image Text symbols on manhole covers are like their ID card, which could provide important information of the manhole, such as loading, relevant project works, etc.
  • "H↑K"
    According to the data, the arrow in the middle of "H↑K" has its existence value. When Hong Kong was still a British colony, this symbol symbolized government materials. It was called "Royal Warehouse" at that time. (now referred to as the Government Supplies Department). Unless there is a source certificate, recycling yards cannot retrieve the manholes to prevent people from stealing.
  • "H","M","L"
    These show the loading capacity of the manhole covers. ‘H’ is Heavy duty (Heavy) meaning it can bear heavy trucks driving on it; M is Medium duty (intermediate) indicating it can be passed by ordinary vehicles; L is Light duty (light) which is suitable for general footpath.
In addition, some of the manhole covers are marked with relevant design standards, as well as the project number. For example: "EN124" is an EU standard certification. It is the standard for standardizing the quality, type, and passing tests of manhole covers, while the project number can indicate the year of installation of the covers.
DSD Competition
Rules and Eligibility
  • All entries must conform to the theme of the competition, and all entries must be original.
  • The entries must be designed according to the specifications provided by the organizer, including the basic dimensions, structure and anti-slip function etc. A summary of the content should be provided either in Chinese or English (in no more than 250 words).
  • Participants can choose to design of the storm manhole cover or sewer manhole cover. The entries should be clearly indicated whether the manhole is a storm manhole cover or sewer manhole cover.
  • A participant can only submit one entry.
  • The submission of the entries must be in jpg or pdf format, the resolution should be at least 300dpi while the file size should not be larger than 5M.
  • The actual size of the entries is 675 mm x 675 mm.
  • In order to ensure the fairness of the competition, no personal name (including English or Pinyin abbreviation) or any personal information such as logos and graphics related to the author's identity may appear on the entries and the layout.
  • Decisions of the judges are final. The participants are not allowed to object and the competition does not have an appeal mechanism.
  • All staff of the organizer, contractor, members of the judging panel and their immediate family members are not allowed to participate in this competition.
渠蓋設計比賽
Copyright
  • Participants are required to comply with the relevant copyright laws. If the participants infringe the copyright or other related crimes, including but not limited to the submission, reprinting, copying and counterfeiting of the competition, the qualifications will be cancelled. Participants should be responsible for their own legal responsibility, and any legal disputes are irrelevant to the organizer.
  • The organizer may copy, use, modify, display, publish and distribute the submitted entries, or distribute them for any media, for publicity or education, without any remuneration or other notice.
  • The organizer has the intellectual property rights of the submitted entries, which can be put into production and distributed, displayed or published in any venue as (but not limited to) the promotion of the DSD activities.
  • After submitting the application, the participants will agree to all the terms and conditions on behalf of the participants, and will not remove any loss of the organizer from any of the principals who have filed their work for the legal liability and agree to the compensation.
Personal information collection statement
Personal information is provided by the participants and the relevant materials will only be used for participation in the Drainage Services Department. The information will only be provided by the person handling the application as a review, contact and related use. If the participants need to inquire or modify the personal information provided, please contact the staff via email (enquiry@dsdmanholecompetition.hk). If the contestant fails to provide sufficient, accurate and clear information, we may not be able to process the application.
Reference website
DSD Competition
Entry Submission
The online entry submission has been closed, thank you for your support!
Result Announcement
The manhole cover design and online voting have been finished successfully, below is the result:

First Prize

03 YEUNG FUNG YEE
Second Prize

01 袁慧萍 YUEN WAI PING NATALIE
Third Prize

04 簡紫茵 KAN TSZ YAN
Merit 07 曾琬嵐 Tsang Yuen Nam
09 傅雅妍 Fu Nga Yin
10 彭家瑜 Pang Ka Yu

The Most Popular Award 01 袁慧萍 YUEN WAI PING NATALIE
Winners will be notified by letter and invited to attend the prize presentation.
Thank you for all your support! Please come to DSD Open Day 2019 (19-20 Jan) at Shatin Sewage Treatment Works and visit the exhibition of Manhole Cover Design Competition.

色彩
文字大小 A A A
主办机构
比赛主题
「除污·防洪·共建三十载   复修·活化·开拓新未来」
设计主题可围绕以下四方面:
  • 渠务署成立30周年回顾
  • 河道活化:利用水景丶园景和生态概念活化河道,改善水质,为社区建设绿化河道走廊,提升生活环境,例如活化翠屏河计划及启德河改善工程
  • 复修渠道:为出现老化情况的渠管,适时安排更换及修复
  • 将沙田污水处理厂迁往岩洞:可腾出现址约28公顷土地作兴建房屋和其他有利民生的用途,为沙田的社区和环境带来长远效益
目的
  • 加深市民对渠务署工作的认识
  • 鼓励市民参与渠盖设计,共同关注建设城市
比赛对象
全港市民丶社会各界关注城市发展及爱好设计之人士 (主办单位丶工作人员及其直系亲属均不可参加。)
日程安排
作品提交
2018年11月15日 — 12月15日
(逾期递交作品将不获受理)
评审
2018年12月20日
(选出冠丶亚丶季与3名优异奖,并筛选另外4名入围作品,以竞逐最具人气奖)
入围结果公布
2018年12月21日
(10名入围作品将作网上投票)
网上投票时间
2018年12月21日 — 2019年1月11日
(网上投票以选出最具人气奖)
赛果公布
2019年1月14日
颁奖典礼
2019年1月19日
渠务署开放日颁奖典礼
奖项
冠军5000奖金及证书,亚军2000奖金及证书,季军2000奖金及证书,优异奖3名500奖金及证书,最具人气奖2000奖金及证书 冠军5000奖金及证书,亚军2000奖金及证书,季军2000奖金及证书,优异奖3名500奖金及证书,最具人气奖2000奖金及证书
评审标准
整体构图30%, 主题表达30%, 实用性20%, 创意20%
评审办法
第一阶段:
由专业评审团进行评审,选出4名入围作品丶冠丶亚丶季及3名优异奖。

第二阶段:
共有10份入围作品将会进行网上投票,由全港市民选出最具人气奖。
赛果公布
比赛结果将於2019年1月14日於渠务署网页公布。得奖者将另函通知,并会获邀出席颁奖典礼,介绍他们的得奖作品及分享他们的设计心得 。 得奖作品将有机会被采用制成实物,於本港范围使用。
DSD Competition
渠盖知多少
在街上低头玩手机时,有没有留意到地上一个个不同图案的渠盖,你又了解多少它们背後的密码呢?
渠盖的历史
渠盖的誔生与香港的发展历史紧紧相连。在开埠初期,维多利亚城 (即今日西上中环丶金钟丶湾仔及铜锣湾等地) 内的渠道单一,只依靠雨水冲走污物,而沟渠并无被覆盖,易滋生及散播细菌。一八九四年,香港发生鼠疫,促使政府加速实施供水及排污的改革,包括雨污分流及覆盖沟渠,从此供水及排污管道就转到地下。後来又开始以坚固生铁取代石和粗陶,建造更耐用的管道和井盖。
渠盖设计比赛
「圆清方浊」
现时,香港常见的渠盖花纹主要分两种,小正方形格子为污水渠;圆圈放射式花纹的则是雨水渠。 因此,坊间也有「圆清方浊」这个简单易明的说法。这种渠盖设计方便维修人员识别。方纹下面是污水,让渠务人员警惕,小心留意下面有沼气。
圆清方浊
渠盖的神秘符号
渠盖图片 原来这些文字符号如同渠盖的身份证,用以说明渠盖的负重能力丶所属工程项目等重要资讯。
  • 「H↑K」
    据资料显示,「H↑K」中间的箭头也有它的存在价值。在香港仍属英国殖民地的时候,这个标志象徵政府物料,那时候叫「皇家仓」。(现称政府物料供应处)。除非有来源证,否则回收场不可以随便收买,防止人们偷取。
  • 「H」丶「M」丶「L」
    它们显示渠盖的负重能力。H即Heavy duty(重级),可以承受重型货车在上面行驶;M即Medium duty(中级),可让普通车辆通过;L即Light duty(轻型),适用於一般行人路。
除此之外,部分渠盖上亦有标明相关的设计标准,以及工程项目号码。例如:「EN124」是欧盟标准的认证。它是规范路面渠盖的品质丶类型丶通过的测试等要求的标准。而工程项目号码可以暗示渠盖的安装年份。
设计特色:1. 渠盖形状 - 部分方形渠盖由两个三角形组成,以减轻渠务人员的体力负荷。2.凹凸表面 - 渠盖表面必须凹凸以增强其防滑程度。3.渠盖上的「眼睛」 - 渠盖上有两个圆形狭缝,就像两只眼睛,是让渠务人员插入特别工具,以拉起渠盖之用
DSD Competition
比赛细则
  • 所有参赛作品内容须符合是次比赛的主题,参赛者须保证其参赛作品属原创。
  • 作品须根据大会提供的规格图来设计,包括基本外观尺寸丶结构丶防滑功能等,其他均可自由发挥,并以不多於250字中文或英文简介作品理念。
  • 参赛者可自由选择设计雨水渠渠盖或污水渠渠盖(二择一),并清楚交代渠盖所属类别。
  • 参赛者只可提交一份参赛作品。
  • 作品格式要求:只限jpg或pdf格式,解像度不得低於300dpi;档案不得大於5M。
  • 作品的实际尺寸为675 mm x 675 mm。
  • 为确保是次比赛评选的公正性,参赛作品及版面上不得出现作者姓名(包括英文或拼音缩写)或与作者身份有关的任何标志丶图形等个人资料。
  • 比赛结果以评审团及主办单位的决定为依据,参赛者不得异议,比赛亦不设上诉机制 。
  • 所有主办单位及承办单位之工作人员丶评审团成员及其直系亲属均不得参加此项比赛 。
渠盖设计比赛
版权
  • 参赛者须遵守相关版权法。如发现参赛者侵犯版权或其他相关罪行,当中包括但不限於递交借用丶转载丶复制及假冒的参赛作品等,其参赛资格将被取消。参赛者应当自行承担法律责任,任何法律纠纷一概与主办单位无关。
  • 参赛者必须同意主办单位保留权利,可复制丶使用丶修饰丶展示丶刊登及发放所提交的作品,或於任何媒体发放,作宣传或教育之用,不另致酬及另行通知。
  • 参赛者须同意主办单位拥有所提交作品的知识产权,可投入生产,并於任何场合发放丶展示或刊登作品作为(但不限於)推广渠务署活动之用。
  • 参赛者在完成报名後,即代表参赛者同意上述所有条款及规则,并无保留下解除任何主办单位因刊登其作品的任何法律责任及同意赔偿所违章而引起主办单位的损失。
个人资料收集声明
个人资料是由参赛者自愿提供,有关资料只会用作参与渠务署有关活动之用。资料只会提供处理申请的人员参阅,作为审批丶联络及相关的用途。参赛者如需要查询或修改所提供的个人资料,请以电邮方式(enquiry@dsdmanholecompetition.hk)向职员查询。参赛者如未能提供足够丶正确和清楚的资料,我们可能未能处理有关申请。
参考网页
DSD Competition
提交作品
作品提交经已截止,多谢各位支持!
结果公布
渠盖设计比赛及网上投票经已完满结束,比赛结果如下:

冠军

03 YEUNG FUNG YEE
亚军

01 袁慧萍 YUEN WAI PING NATALIE
季军

04 简紫茵 KAN TSZ YAN
优异奖 07 曾琬岚 Tsang Yuen Nam
09 傅雅妍 Fu Nga Yin
10 彭家瑜 Pang Ka Yu

最具人气奖 01 袁慧萍 YUEN WAI PING NATALIE
以上得奖者将另函通知,并会获邀出席颁奖典礼。
感谢踊跃支持,欢迎各位於渠务署开放日2019 (1月19-20日) 亲临沙田污水处理厂,欣赏渠盖设计比赛作品展!